Father’s Day Gift: Dad’s Cookbook

I’m usually pretty good at coming up with creative gifts. And when I come up with a brilliant idea for a gift, it’s almost always after the gift-giving occasion has come and gone. This is especially upsetting for one-time events like weddings or graduations, where the opportunity to give a great gift doesn’t come up year after year.

Luckily, Father’s Day is an annual occasion. I can’t say that I give brilliant gifts every year, but some years I come up with better ideas than others. If I do say so myself, this year’s gift was pretty fun.

My dad is single, and very busy. For his job, he travels all over the Midwest and is sometimes on the road 5 days a week. I wanted to give him a gift card, but I wanted to present it in a creative way. So I came up with Dad’s Cookbook.

Dad's Cookbook

The cover to Dad’s “Cookbook”

I went to several fast food restaurants that are located close to his house, but also have restaurants all over the Midwest, in case he wanted to use his gift cards on the road. Then, I wrote out the recipes.

Fried ChickenBurgers & FriesChicken SandwichButterburgersSub Sandwiches

He laughed when he looked at the cover of the book. Needless to say, he’s not much of a cook. But he was pleasantly surprised when he looked inside. He confided that he “shouldn’t be” going to KFC, but he was prety excited about the gift card nonetheless. Even with his busy schedule, he tries really hard to only eat fast food about once per week, so these should last him for quite some time.

My dad thoroughly enjoyed his Father’s Day gift, along with the steak & potatoes we grilled for lunch.

Did you do anything special for Father’s Day? I’d love to know in the comments.

P.S. I’m writing this at Starbucks, and there’s totally a guy having an intense conversation with himself. No Bluetooth earpiece, nobody else around. Just him and his triple Venti latte. Lay off the caffiene, dude.

2 responses to “Father’s Day Gift: Dad’s Cookbook

Leave a Reply

