No Pants 2012 Update, Month 1: The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly

No PantsIt’s been one month since I started my No Pants 2012 challenge. First, the good:

I’ve been keeping busy. In addition to this blog, I’ve contributed to Space Savers (here and here), and got to review my favorite author’s new book.

I haven’t bought any clothes. Believe me, I’ve been tempted. I’ve attended a wedding, several client meetings, and many fun summer events. In the past, I would have picked up some new clothes for some or all of these events. But I’m working on being creative and working with what I’ve got. And so far, it’s working.

Note: The following text conversation happened between me and my best friend last week

Me: I’m wearing the same shirt I wore last night. Don’t judge me.

BFF: I’ve known you since we were six. It’s going to take more than that to offend me.

This is when I realized two things: (1) There is a reason she is my best friend, and (2) Not buying new clothes isn’t the end of the world.

Emeals: Still awesome. We’ve been sticking to our Emeals menus and eating at home more often. In the summer there are more events in the evenings, so we eat out once or twice a week, but we figure that into our budget and it works out fine. We have found some super awesome recipes from Emeals that we love, and in a month and a half we’ve already saved quite a bit on groceries.

Emeals

A sample of some of the awesome meals we’ve been enjoying this month.

The bad:

I suck at going to the gym. Even though I’m down to one gym membership, I’m still having a hard time getting up and going every morning. They are in the middle of revamping the entire program, and I love things that are new and different, so I’m excited for the next couple weeks. After that, I will have to continue to make myself accountable to go, even when I don’t want to.

The ugly:

I WANT DIET PEPSI. I am super addicted to this stuff, and it’s hard to give up having it at home. I’ve gotten a LOT better about not buying it at the checkout, mini-mart, etc. But I’m not completely cured yet. Good thing I still have six months left in 2012 to work on it. I also discovered this new energy drink that’s supposed to be “healthy.” I’m sure it’s not actually good for me, and I don’t need to spend the money. It was on sale for the month of June, so now that we’re into July, I’m done with that. The benefit to trying to drink less Diet Pepsi is that I have been drinking a whole lot more water, and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Really, things are going pretty well. I’m doing ok not buying clothes, and I love that I’m more mindful of my spending overall. Even though I falter every now and again, I know I’m on the right track and I really appreciate this challenge.

2 responses to “No Pants 2012 Update, Month 1: The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly

  1. Whoa! You made a lot of changes in one month! When I gave of clothes shopping, I did not give up anything else. I took all my effort just to focus on that. You are awesome!

Leave a Reply

